Soft Summer.

I’m exploring Soft Summer again during a trip to Europe. I found that I had some disappointments with the Cooler Soft Spring palette, Dusty Soft Spring. It’s still to saturated, bright, warm and I can tell it changed the colors in my face to less flattering hues. Sunlit Soft Summer is definitely the better palette for me. However as much as I liked the PYW fans, I am back to using my sci-art 12 blueprints (12 tone fan). Go figure!

12 tone fan….

image

Soft green shades, beautiful with purple accessories. With the statue of Liberty (France) this is a mixed Swiss/French inspiration idea.

 

image

Shades of soft red, purple, and pink. I love this card it has this movement that is interesting and reminds me of the heart pastries with the white and purple jam filled center.

image

Soft yellow with texture like the cathedral. I usually don’t wear this much texture, however it is fun and yet still soft.

image

Pinky-Purple greyed brown top with a floral scarf much like the color in the castle’s archway.

image

Detailing in a French dress…

image

image

image

image

image

SM7

So what about my beloved Zyla palette? I think it will work great still, and especially in the Fall when all the leaves turn gorgeous colors and I want to play along. I can wear some of those peachy-pink-oranges. Some of those brighter Zyla colors are fun to include in accessories. Some of the palette goes already with my fan or near close but some are not. I really think the 12 tone fan palette is my best. But yet draped twice was not good enough, I had to REALLY see it myself and compare all other options available especially with the new colors systems out there. User error was my main issue with this fan and for me that yellow strip is one of my saving graces when comparing “clean” or “dirty” yellow as being a good indicator when checking fabrics.

~Softmosaic

 

 

6 thoughts on “Soft Summer.

  1. Jam says:

    Thank you for all the comparisons! I’ve been eagerly awaiting you getting the sunlit soft summer fan, too, and wow…. not what I expected, at all. As you say, too saturated. I was really hoping for something far more like the photoshopped one. Those make me relaxed, the official fan colors feel stressful.

    Like

    • irongirl703 says:

      Thank you for commenting Jam! I was hoping the Sunlit Soft Summer palette to be similar to the photoshopped one too. It looks like that could be a job for us to make that palette for ourselves. Have a good day!

      Like

  2. operationgreenshoes says:

    I was curious too. I have a personalized palette and a lot of the Sunlit ones would work, but some wouldn’t. Your skin and eyes are very similar to mine (although my hair is warmer) so I was really interested to see the palette. I agree, not as soft as I expected. It did confirm to me that the palette I have could be the only one that works for me. I have every color in the rainbow, soft shades mostly. I have summer, spring, and autumn. For example: celadon, lemon yellow, and a random hue of rust to keep it interesting. Thank you so much for sharing. It really helped me!

    Like

  3. Admin says:

    I think I commented elsewhere–can’t remember if it was here or on another post. I, too, was tempted to go back to the 12-Tone Soft Summer palette after getting my (now) ColorBreeze palette, but I made a mistake in comparison, which I think you may have made here. It really explained why I felt better at first holding the 12-Tone up to my face.

    It has to do with the way the colors are arranged. The 12-Tone is vaguely more toasted than the ColorBreeze (at least mine is — and not really a problem–it’s still in the ballpark). The 12-
    Tone is arranged with the lightest colors on the outer edges when you unfold it. The med-dark colors are away from the face. That’s why the whole of it, opened out, looks so good against our faces. The ColorBreeze fan is better for creating color schemes because you can put hue against hue. But the whole of it opened out also includes the deeper tones that go away from the face or should be used in accents.

    I discovered this by sorting out what I “felt” were the best of the best colors–the ones I felt most comfortable with and that also looked best on me. These were mostly the lighter, more subtle colors and neutrals. That’s when I saw that some of the deeper colors are good when you want to stand out or if you need an accent pick-me-up–so those you might use in smaller amounts. Also personality and body build make a statement.

    Because I have Natural/Angelic essences in the PSC system, it explained why I love my wispier colors and can only take so much of the stronger ones. A woman with a more Classic, Dramatic, or maybe even straight up Natural essence might feel better about wearing more of the stronger, richer colors day in and out. And also don’t forget that if you need a very blended effect in your colors that even if you color block monochromatics, the effect can still be too sharp.Some of the coral pinks/reds in the palette feel too stark to me when I look at them alone, but I found a picture of a flower with all these blended together and the effect was much, much better. Many (most) Sunlit Soft Summers, I suspect, might have issues with the strongest colors of the palette worn in a solid block against the face or in a way that breaks up the lines of the body. It just seems to go with the territory. Hope that helps.

    Like

    • Heather Fieldman says:

      Hi there! I actually think I am soft summer that leans cooler now and not necessarily sunlit Ssu! I have made a custom palette and also just had a professional one made for me that is spot on. Took me 10 years to really 100% get the best colors and know them, part of my problem was my hair color throwing things off. I’ll have to make a post about it! It’s been about 5 years since I posted on here!

      You have some really good and interesting points here thanks for sharing! Definitely good insight for those of us using different fans!! Great comment, thanks!

      Like

      • Admin says:

        So glad to hear of your success. I know what you mean about the hair color thing, too. Same here. I wonder, have you ever compared the Sunlit Soft Summer to the Soft Summer Light of other systems? I was analyzed as a Soft Summer Light in a different system. I think that might be similar to Toned Soft Summer. But I don’t know how Toned Soft Summer differs from Soft Summer Light.

        Like

Leave a comment