Why There Are More Soft Seasons

2016-06-28_1850

Photo credit to Lora Alexander from Pretty Your World.

Please visit Lora’s website for a full explanation. Below is a snippet:

“Then there are the Soft’s. Soft seasons are not the lightest, the deepest, the warmest or the coolest. They certainly aren’t the clearest. Using our tree example, they are close to the center of the tree. The closer it is to the tree trunk, the more ‘grey’ or desaturated it becomes. The sun doesn’t hit the interior of the tree much. This is where the Soft’s reside. There are lighter and deeper soft seasons. There are softs that are more warm than cool (toasted) or more cool than warm (toned).

It is the discovery of these wide range of soft seasons that ColorBreeze© was born! One cannot just be considered ‘Soft’ now and feel they know their season. Are you the lighter or darker, warmer or cooler Soft? ColorBreeze will find the perfect spot for you on the tree”

-Lora alexander (Color Breeze System)

1

The Sunlit Soft Summer can think and others can be most convinced that they are a Spring. I felt a huge connection with the description of the sun and lightest of the Softs. A lot of Soft Summer was too heavy and dark on me, not to mention I made swatching mistakes that had me purchasing Dark Winter and Cool Summer which both are pretty harsh on my complexion. It is understandable how Light Spring Soft would be great on me compared to my inaccurate Soft Summer purchases.

When draped again by Rachel of 12 blueprints I really loved the luxury drapes, however there was a soft autumn brown I liked and a Light Summer yellow I fancied. I thought well, why is this?

Now that I see that the Sunlit Soft Summer sits near the top of the tree near the sun I understand why I was so frustrated with Soft Summer before. I can see how one might think that narrowing a palette can cause limits, but If someone perceives themselves a certain way and I saw myself always as “sunny” its very confusing when your wearing clothes that seem too serious, heavy, dark and make you feel waited down. It makes sense that those colors are in the same realm but much farther down the tree towards the trunk. I am not that far down, I am towards the sun. I’m next to Light Summer but not that bright, makes sense why I like some Light Summer colors, and I am neighboring with Dusty Soft Spring which is the cooler soft spring. This makes sense why I have always adored and been able to pull of those colors pretty decently since it would be a neighbor season. Personally I’d prefer a palette/fan like the Sunlit Soft Summer because I am not going to accidentally purchase Dark Winter clothes with them and so on. It’s specifically my best and there is a lot of ranging mixtures of colors in that smaller honed realm.

TS6IMG_7753

This picture on the left is too heavy and slightly too saturated as well. Could be Dark Winter or maybe a darker soft summer could wear this. On me it’s not right. Now the second pictures I am wearing grey-green yellow and it’s much better. I am for sure lighter and towards the sunshine. Keep in mind the Left picture I am wearing makeup and the right I am wearing none.

Sm2SM

These looks are very sunny. This is why they are so awesome on me.

DSC00557IMG_7676

Another really good example of how Soft Summer really can be split because what’s on the left is so not me.

SMDSC00464

Sm2DSC00463

Another really good example, the left drape is glowing and just looks like something I’d love to wear, the right seems heavy and I feel like someone else, not the me I’ve always known. Another great thing about the drapes on the left is the color combinations. Just 1 color or a neutral looks pretty boring on me, I need at least 2 colors for color contrast. I’d also like to point out these left and right photos all though not taken the same year were both taken in the winter time. This is due to wearing correct makeup and wearing my best colors that the left pictures showcase a glowing and healthy look.

Pictures below from Lora Alexander’s seasonal catalog:

This is a perfect example of why the Soft Seasons can be broken up. My current theory is I am a Sunlit Soft Summer and I am testing it out. This why I love the lighter and brighter colors on me and not the darker side of the palette better for Toasted or Smokey Soft Summer.

SMDSC00465

These pictures make the same point as the ones above.

 

Here are some great examples from Lora’s website catalogue on Sunlit Soft Summer colors. The are wonderful and they are definitely  that sunny top of the tree colors that I thought I should be.

Sunlit SummerIMG_6338

For the Summers, this photo is exclusive on Lora’s site for Sunlit only. I have a love of this color… and now I know why. I think there are some summers that can wear soft peach shades. This is a shared color with the Dusty Soft Spring, so I see how I keep thinking I could be a Soft Spring especially when some other colors systems don’t allow a peach on a Soft Summer.

TS28

Zyla is right, these are excellent shades on me and one that just seems to work so well.

Sunlit8Sunlit7

Here  you can see the resemblance of some of the Zyla colors. The Zyla swatches are coming out a bit more saturated then in real life but this is the idea when compared to Sunlit Soft Summer. Some of the bright colors like the top turquoise I prefer as a color pop in jewelry more then a whole garment…

TS

In small doses the brighter colors are awesome and create a unique “personality” style that is more me and possibly works week for the Sunlit Soft Summer considering their place on the tree in near the sun and close to L. Summer and neighboring Dusty Spring.

Here are some Soft Spring shades from Lora’s site including the Dusty Soft Spring. I might be able to pull of some of these but that last one seems way to neon green for me. Zyla didn’t give me yellow although he thought about it. He said stay away from grass greens as well, and non of my colors look as highlighter as that last shirt.

12

SM15

So who would better wear my custom palette? Of course I would wear it best because it’s custom.

I’m very curious what the Sunlit Soft Summer palette will be like once the color fan arrives!

~Softmosaic

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment